There it is, the text you thought you would never have to read: ‘it’s over’.

Unable to accept what he’s said, you hope that you might change his mind. As he holds firm, you continue to make excuses for what he’s saying.

Welcome to stage one of your break-up: denial

In this stage you think that that your ex will eventually ‘come around’ and you continue to make excuses for him.

Stage two: anger

You might beat yourself up over it – don’t. It’s not your fault.

Stage three: bargaining

You start looking for ways to make it work again.

Stage four: depression

You lose excitement in the things you once loved.

Stage five: acceptance

You’re feeling free and invincible.

Don’t be stuck in a rut, get out of stage one and explore, remember, the world in your oyster.