5 stages of break-ups


There it is, the text you thought you would never have to read: ‘it’s over’.

Unable to accept what he’s said, you hope that you might change his mind. As he holds firm, you continue to make excuses for what he’s saying.

Welcome to stage one of your break-up: denial

In this stage you think that that your ex will eventually ‘come around’ and you continue to make excuses for him.

Stage two: anger

You might beat yourself up over it – don’t. It’s not your fault.

Stage three: bargaining

You start looking for ways to make it work again.

Stage four: depression

You lose excitement in the things you once loved.

Stage five: acceptance

You’re feeling free and invincible.

Don’t be stuck in a rut, get out of stage one and explore, remember, the world in your oyster.

Well hello there!
Help us help you by allowing us and our partners to remember your device in cookies to serve you personalized content and ads.

We're on a mission to help our mums and their families thrive by informing, connecting and entertaining.

Join us in our mission by consenting to the use of cookies and IP address recognition by us and our partners to serve you content (including ads) best suited to your interests, both here and around the web.

We promise never to share any other information that may be deemed personal unless you explicitly tell us it's ok.

If you want more info, see our privacy policy.