HomeTagsPosts tagged with "go-ahead"



To the delight of commuters, Dublin Bus is introducing a brand new route this weekend.

Route 175 will be the first one to be run by the British company Go-Ahead. 

The route will service 65 stops across the city.

'Go-Ahead Ireland is delighted to launch their first bus route, the 175, running from UCD to Citywest,'  according to Go-Ahead. 

'This 24 km route, will pick passengers up from 65 stops (from UCD to Citywest), 63 stops (from Citywest to UCD) and will be serviced a fleet of 9 buses and 19 Go-Ahead Ireland drivers.'

It will also serve Tallaght and Dundrum en route.

The new route will accept cash and Leap Cards, and to journey further than 13 stages on the route will cost €2.60 on the Leap Card and €3.30 in cash for an adult fare. 

The route will not be available on the Dublin Bus App, but commuters can plan their route via the National Journey Planner app. 

The app also includes Luas, Irish Rail and ferry times. 



Private UK bus firm Go-Ahead has won the contract to operate 10 percent of bus routes in Dublin

The National Transport Authority says the UK company offered the best value for money to run the 23 routes according to Breaking News. 

The company provides 25 percent of London bus services and 7 percent of regional bus services in Britain.

The franchise will have to maintain existing bus services and no Dublin Bus employees will face redundancy.

'This commitment to continuously improve our services will ensure we maintain a key role in the development of public bus transport in the city now and in the future,' NTA CEO Ray Coyne told The Journal. 

These are the affected routes:

17 Rialto to Blackrock

17a Blanchardstown Centre to Kilbarrack

18 Palmerstown(Old Lucan Road)to Sandymount

33a Swords to Balbriggan

33b Swords to Portrane

45a Dún Laoghaire (Rail Station)to Ballywaltrim

59 Dún Laoghaire to Mackintosh Park

63 Dún Laoghaire to Kilternan

75 The Square Tallaght to Dún Laoghaire

76 Chapelizod to Tallaght (The Square)

76a Blanchardstown Centre to Tallaght (The Square)

102 Sutton station to Dublin Airport

04 Clontarf Road (Conquer Hill) to Santry (Shanard Road)

111 Loughlinstown Park to Dún Laoghaire

114 Ticknock to Blackrock Station

161 Dundrum Luas Station to Rockbrook

184 Bray Rail station to Newtownmountkennedy

185 Bray Railstation to Shop River (Enniskerry)

220 Ballymun (Shangan Road) to Lady's Well Road

236 Blanchardstown Centre to Damastown

238 Tyrrelstown to Lady's Well Road

239 Blanchardstown Centre to Liffey Valley Shopping Centre

270 Blanchardstown Centre to Dunboyne